Butler Café culture hits Pico

Pico: cat butler boy

In Japan you can visit speciality eateries called Butler and Meido (“maid” in English) cafés.

Royal Servant blog: neko nightJust like Stella, the geeks and nerds in Japan needed a place to escape to, where they could get their groove back. I don’t quite understand it to be honest, cosplay was never really my strong suit, but for a few bucks you can have a cute guy/girl dote on you for a few minutes. The appeal? Maybe it’s the insta-boner you’ll get while playing rock, paper, scissors with a hot maid, more than likely … it’s just nice to be able to oogle attractive people while sipping your tea without anyone judging. This may not be how I personally like to get my rocks off but I get how this is appealing to other people.

Ameba Pico’s latest release of Colorful Kitty Cat Costumes makes me wanna face-palm. Instead of carrying over something kawaii from big brother Ameba Pigg’s bag of tricks, Pico has defiantly created something they found to be unique and somewhat (in my opinion) tasteless. These new kitty cat items scream Butler Culture and you may hate on me but I, no likey!

Come on, Pico!

Why do you want to dress us up like this?!

Neko girl in white

Neko models from the Pico official blogYou offend me, first, with the really terrible 100AG Premium Girls Only Gacha In France. Six really crappy Barbie-esque items that you need to pay 100AG per spin to win… and now this?! Ameba, I am really disappointed. Perhaps, it’s time for your creative team to step away from the Butler Cafe doors and try visiting somewhere like Sanrio Surprise for inspiration.  May I also suggest, no more premium gacha for at least two months?  Treat us like adults, believe that we’re able to make our own decisions and just let us buy the items we like instead of forcing us to swallow whatever the Premium Gacha gods deems fitting for us to have.

– DB

Contemporary street style neko

Neko girl in black at home

Cutesy neko girlfriends

Neko girl all dressed up

Neko twins ride their "Escargot" segues

This entry was posted in Commentary, Fashion, Products and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment